Free Society Project, Inc. is a non-profit organization/think tank with tax-exempt status incorporated in 2001 in Washington, D.C.  Its purpose is to promote the understanding, recognition, and observance of human rights particularly through research and scholarship. Cuba Archive Truth and Memory Project is the organization’s flagship initiative.

For more details visit

A distinguished group of academics, human rights’ activists, and successful professionals leads this effort.



Manuel Pérez.

Secretary of the Board. Recently retired software entreprenuer and accomplished business executive living in New Jersey and Miami. 

María E. Pérez. 

Treasurer of the Board. Former computer industry executive and founder of Cuba Art New York, a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting Cuban exile art. She lives in New Jersey and Miami.

Alexis Romay. 

Founder of the Cuba-themed blog “Belascoaín y Neptuno,” he left Cuba in 1999 and lives in New Jersey. With a B.S. in Art Education in Havana and a Masters of Arts in Spanish Language and Literature from the City University of New York. His novel Salidas de emergencia is published in Spanish and Italian and was selected a finalist in a literary contest in Puerto Rico.

María C. Werlau. 

President of the Board & Cuba Archive Executive Director. Consultant in private practice, policy analyst, and author of wide-ranging writings on Cuban affairs. Formerly a Second Vice President of the Chase Manhattan Bank, Ms. Werlau holds a Bachelor of Science in Foreign Service from Georgetown University and a Masters in International Relations from Universidad de Chile. She lives in the greater New York city area, Miami, and Puerto Rico.


Ricardo Bofill, founder of the Comisión Cubana de Derechos Humanos), former Cuban political prisoner.

Pedro Corzo, journalist, filmmaker, and former political prisoner, President of the Instituto de la Memoria Histórica Cubana contra el Totalitarismo.

Ernesto Díaz Rodríguez, author, human rights activist, and former Cuban political prisoner.

Enrique Encinosa. Author and radio commentator.

Ángel de Fana, former political prisoner, President of the Association of Former Political Prisoners of Cuba.

Ambassador Dennis K. Hays, former U.S. Ambassador to Suriname and Director of The Emergence Group.

Carlos Alberto Montaner, author, editorialist and journalist.

Eduardo Palmer, TV executive and cinematographer.

Ambassador Otto J. Reich, former Assistant Secretary of State.

Laura Ymayo Tartakoff, J.D., Instructor at Case Western Reserve University and author.


We remember our co-founders and members of the Board, Armando Ph.D.(1939-2008) and María Pino de Cañizares (1934-2008) as well as former Advisors Luis Aguilar León (1925-2008), Father Miguel Loredo (1938-2011), and Juan Clark, Ph.D. (1939-2013).